Two Sides (Luke 11-12)

So … I’m about to read half of Luke and blog about it seven times! I was on vacation last week, so I’m now going to to an epic catch up on bootcamp. And then maybe do a regular post after. We’ll see how I’m feeling.

It’s hard to write about Luke because it’s so long.

Luke 12:4-7 is really good at showing two “sides” if you will, of God. Firstly, he has the power to kill and send to hell. Not very pleasant, but necessary. This passage is telling us not to fear those who may persecute us etc. but sometimes I feel like I can fit into the person who is causing others to be afraid. There is distinct fear of God that a lot of OT people had, and this would definitely feed into my fear factor. However, Jesus follows up by reminding us that he loves us enough to know the number of hairs on our head. Now my hair is blond, which means it’s a little finer in size, and its thick so I have a lot of strand os hair. It also sheds like no other, so even if I counted the hairs on my head once, it would be wrong later because it is always changing. Also, I don’t think I love anyone enough to want to know so much about them that the number of hairs they have on their head matters to me. It’s kind of mind blowing that that kind of love exists.

Leave a Reply

