Verse 11(2 Corinthians 13)

Only one chapter today in the reading plan, and I find myself drawn to the end of the passage with Paul’s last  points to the Corinthians (verse 11).

Rejoice. Paul tells them to be joyful. We should be joyful. When we consider everything that Christ has done for us and how he has interceded for us (as Paul has mentioned earlier), we should be moved to rejoice. I’ll line up to be the first to admit that I don’t always rejoice in what I have in Christ. Sometimes darkness closes in and it’s hard to rejoice, so a reminder to rejoice is always good.

Aim for restoration. I’m not completely sure on this, but I think the concept is something to do with restoring relationships and people through the love of Christ. Not sure though.

Comfort one another. Well. I’ve talked about bearing burdens before in this reading-bloging journey, so of course I love it when Paul bring it up again. Maybe it’s because I usually like trying to comfort people or ease their burdens, but the fact that Paul includes it in this short list of things to do must mean it is important to do.

Agree with one another. I’m really glad Paul put this one in here. I don’t think he’s telling us that we all need to subscribe to the same theology or what have you, but that we should be making the effort to be in agreement and not argue over silly things. It goes along with comforting and restoration, I think.

Live in peace. Nuff said.

And it finishes with the promise that “the God of love and peace will be with you”. Why wouldn’t you want that? It’s like icing on cake, because all those things before were great themselves.

Leave a Reply

