Grieve to Repent (2 Corinthians 7-8)

“As it is, I rejoice, not because you were grieved, but because you were grieved into repenting.” – 2 Corinthians 7:9a

Isn’t that crazy? Paul goes on to talk about the difference between godly grief and worldly grief, where one leads us to repenting and the other to death, respectively. I have to stop and think about how many times in my life I’ve been moved in some way, but not all the way to the point of repentance and life changing. And yet, this is what needs to be happening as I discover parts of my life that need to be realigned to Christ. I cannot just let things slide to deal with them later. But you know what? I’m probably going to do just that as soon as I finish this blog post. My heart isn’t in it, but I can pray for a change of heart. Not exactly the easiest thing to ask for, let alone want (who knows what radical ridiculousness I would get into?), but I’m asking to be willing to want to change.

Leave a Reply

