Saved Workmanship (Ephesians 1-2)

Call me crazy, but I never realized Ephesians 2:8 and 2:10 were together. Clearly the numbers say they are, but it hasn’t clicked before now…so the passage standing out in the passage today (meta-passage? passage-ception?):

For it is by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them. – Ephesians 2:8-10

 

Verse 10 itself is one my favourite encouraging verses. I stumbled across it at camp (I feel like I always reference camp) and it was a reminder that both me and the kids that I was serving were the workmanship of God. Definitely worked on my tired heart to be able to try to serve the campers better that week.

Moving onto today … if we are saved by grace through faith, then it is not conditional on anything I do or have done or will do in the future. The combo of this truth with the fact we were created for good works in Christ Jesus just ties it together even better. Especially after Paul goes through the gospel foundation in chapter 1 and expands on being one in Christ later in chapter 2. I think what I’m trying to get at … is that little pieces just keep falling together as I read through this plan. Kind of crazy how these things happen!

Leave a Reply

