#didntdeserveit

Today I was blessed with a great day.

No, a guy didn’t sweep me off my feet. No, I didn’t find out I got 100% on some midterm. No, I didn’t win a pile of money. And no, everything didn’t go my way.

Today was fantastic … purely because while I was still exhausted, stressed, worn out, and tired from doing so many things with fellowship, school, and work … even though I forgot my end-sheets, messed up on an assignment and nearly dozed off in a class … today God was good. I mean, He’s good every day. However, today I was blessed to see it more clearly.

Last night as I was headed home I was sitting on the Gotrain and debating with myself. Do I pull out my Bible and do my quiet time, or sew my book for class? It may not sound like a hard decision, but it was. I really REALLY wanted to finish this book. I had so much to do, and I was freaking out. But God was speaking to me … and he was knocking on my heart. Do you value me over your school work? Do you trust me to lead you? Do you believe that I am BIGGER than your life and your worries?

I’m not going to lie. It was hard to surrender the time for sewing to read my Bible. But I knew in my heart that I needed to surrender and trust that I would have time enough to finish what I had been given.

And then today. I was exhausted. I always am by Thursday. Sleep deprived and stressed I went to sleep with a headache coming on. Sleep deprived and … full of peace and excitement I woke up? Now thats a little odd.

All I can say is that by the grace of God I was able to burn through a good portion of my to do list. Through the grace of God I ACTUALLY understood my marketing metrics today. Through the grace of God, I was able to invest time in a friend.

Through the grace of God, I learned that I still have a lot of space to grow…but that He is growing me.

I didn’t deserve this day. I have done nothing to warrant it. But He gave it to me anyway.

What a wonderful God

– Matt Redman

Leave a Reply

